News / Calgary

Three Albertans to be inducted into Agriculture Hall of Fame

The province announced Thursday three Albertan trailblazers who will be recognized for their contributions by being inducted into the Agriculture Hall of Fame.

In a release, Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Verlyn Olson thanked Dr. Tom Droog, Dr. Ieuan Evans, and Mabel Church Hamilton for their contribution to Alberta agriculture.

“These three individuals are terrific champions for their industries and have dedicated their lives to ensuring Alberta’s agricultural industry progresses in new ways,” he said.

Droog and his late wife Emmy started to grow sunflowers and quickly turned their alternative crop into the snack food Spitz, which has captured 75 per cent of the Canadian market.

Through his research, Evans found that copper added to cereal crop soil increased yields and also propagated a species of cherry trees now sold throughout Canada and the United States.

Hamilton helped establish Angus cattle as one of the largest and most influential breeds in Canada as also helped found the Canadian Cattle Identification Agency.

The Alberta Agriculture Hall of Fame has recognized agriculture and rural development since 1951 and has inducted 126 members.

The 2012 induction ceremony takes place at the Delta Edmonton South Oct. 5.

More on