News / London

London Lightning capture second straight NBL title

The London Lightning have done it again.

London, the No.1-seeded squad heading into the National Basketball League of Canada playoffs, has emerged as champions on the other side.

The Lightning finished off the best-of-five 2013 NBL Finals with an 87-80 victory over the Summerside Storm in PEI on Friday. They are now back-to-back NBL champs.

Despite trailing 22-8 after the first quarter, London battled back, bridging the gap to four points (54-50) before the start of the fourth. In the final frame, the visitors put up 37 to Summerside's 26, en route to the seven-point win.

Marvin Phillips led the Lightning with 19 points and eight rebounds. Four others — Adrian Moss, Morgan Lewis, Jeremy Williams, and Tim Ellis — posted 12 points or more.

Prior to its series versus the Storm, London defeated the Moncton Miracles, 3-1, in a semi-final best-of-five. Thanks to a 33-7 regular season record, they received a bye in the first round of the playoffs.

Since the NBL is only two years old, the Lightning remain the eight-team league's lone champion.

More on